Arizona is a zero-tolerance state, which means you can still get a DUI if you’re driving with a Blood Alcohol Content (BAC) lower than the legal limits. The legal limit, in Arizona, is 0.08. Driving with any amount of BAC can land you with a DUI, so it’s better to call for a ride!
There are different ‘tiered’ DUI’s for lower and higher percentages of BAC. A standard DUI occurs if you are 21 and older and have a BAC of 0.08 or higher. If you are under the age of 21 and driving with any amount of BAC you can get a DUI. BAC will also be a variable in determining the consequences for any DUI.
For your first DUI, you could receive 24 hours to 10 days of jail time, fines, an interlock device and you could lose your license for 90 to 360 days. Each time you get another DUI, jail time, fines, and license suspension time increase.
Some think these rules and penalties are strict, but in the long run, they save lives. In a study from 2014, it was estimated that 272 deaths occurred related to drunk drivers in Arizona. Arizona had the eleventh highest amount of DUI related fatalities in America. On the other hand, approximately 23,000 arrests were made against drunk drivers in the state of Arizona in 2014. Arizona was number thirteen in the country with DUI arrests. These arrests could save the lives of thousands.
Never drink and drive; protect your life and the lives of those around you.
One thought on “Zero Tolerance- by Aykman Fernandez”
Well written, Aykman! Thank you for your time and research.